Scrapheap Challenge

Sometime earlier this year, I was asked if I would like to do an illustration for the title page of We See A Different Frontier, an anthology of colonialism-themed short stories to be published by The Future Fire. Obviously I said yes.

WSADF-2_1

This is one of the very first sketches. The look I was asked to go for was gambiarra with a dash of biopunk. I must admit I hadn’t come across either of those terms before, which is why the very very first sketch was completely non-biopunky. I’m slowly getting my head round it, but we’re still not quite there yet…

 

Yet another version

This latest version ended up looking like someone stuck a massive piece of gum to some scrap, but oh well. We’ll get there eventually!

It’s being quite the challenge, which was part of the reason I was quite keen to do this. Utter failure may be imminent, but it’s been good trying to draw things which don’t come naturally.

Leave a Reply

